Curating (do we really need to do that?)

Hi everybody,

the last few weeks since the end of Christmas I’ve been following a course on curating at UAL: Central Saint Martins. The course, taught by Jeremy Akerman (independent curator and an artist himself), It has been a good opportunity to talk about art, how space works, and how can we achieve an impact in the exhibition’s visitors.

To conclude the course, we’ve created our own exhibition, from the artwork of one of the members of the course: Hao Xu.

Here some pictures of the crew setting up the exhibition yesterday:

Image

ImageAnd the results of our work:

ImagePart of my tasks (besides helping in the setting) were to design the exhibits panels. These are some examples of my work:

Image

Image

Image

Well, I’m not a professional, of course, but I’m proud of my own work here.

The question now is: what the hell was I (a historian) doing in a “curating” course? Well, first of all, I was learning new abilities, and this is always something good. But the point is that I am, as a historian, interested in how to tell stories. My work, our work, is to tell stories. True stories, or at least as accurate as we can. But to tell. Nowadays, we have lots of new tools to share our stories with new publics, new narrative possibilities. I think it is part of our work (if we really love it) to explore this new possibilities. And as long as my research is about material culture, to curate is, obviously, a possibility. It is the same logic that with the app I talked to you in my last post: to explore new media.

If you want to know more about the exhibition: www.tinyurl.com/CSMsmile

Image

And remind: more news, updates and short blogging at Tumblr.

Leave a Reply

