Welcome back, lazy historian (that’s me, of course)!

It’s been ages since my last post. Two moths and a half!! Too much, I know. I’m really sorry. But you know, life is short laundry is eternal.

Yes, I’ve been very busy all this time since November (well, and it was Christmas too, you know…). Reading, writing, meeting deadlines… I’ll talk you soon about some of these things, because there are some ‘gigs’ in the very near future. But today, I would like to talk you about the project I’ve been working the last two months. We called it “Wax Eloquent: artefacts, emotions and public spaces”, and is an app for iOS and Android, in collaboration with jzarza.com interactive solutions, with Queen Mary’s Centre for the History of Emotions financial support, and curated by Nike Fakiner.

Imagen

Clemente Susini: Anatomical model representing ‘deep lymphatic vessels in a female subject’, human hair, wax, ordered from Fontana by Scarpa, 1794, Museum of the History of the University, Pavia. Source: http://www.preservedproject.co.uk/ode-to-an-anatomical-venus/

Wax Eloquent draws on existing European collections of anatomical wax models (many of them are not public or do not expose their items without specific authorizations) to explore how these models started to circulate between the scientific community and a larger audience throughout the 19th till the 20th century.

052

Cavernous Angiomatous Nevus. Three-years-old boy.

Author: Enrique Zofío Dávila. Source: Museo Olavide, Madrid

As you can imagine, this project requires lots of my time. First of all, because it is a brand new ‘thing’ for me… I’ve been never involved before in the production of a piece of software! And it’s hard work, I can say you that. You need to coordinate the curator, with the IT guy, with the graphic designer, the people shooting the video… it’s really crazy!!

But it’s worth the time.

ipad_web_intro

Wax Eloquent. Home. Author: Aida Zaragoza.

This is how the app will probably look. We are still working on it. I’ll keep you updated.

PS: I would like to add that all the professionals working in this project do it for free. Our idea is to donate all the possible benefits of the app to EURORDIS – Rare Diseases Europe, and this is the way we collaborate.

Leave a Reply

